27 Jul

Good Day!

I really appreciate your kind gesture by reading on this far.

Well, this is my first time to do this kind of stuff on the net. So please bear with me. Again, thanks!

So…let me first crunch my knuckles, catch my breath, adjust my seat, wink my eyes a bit and get on with it!

To begin with, I really don’t know how to start this “posting thing.” Maybe this is also what writers experience when they are about to begin an article. I do believe that the first sentences are crucial to an article’s fate. They make the readers decide either to continue reading or dump the article early on. I hope my articles don’t suffer the latter.

So here goes…

Since I was a kid I have always been fascinated by puzzles and I really love solving them. And to my amazement, however enigmatic, perplexing and boggling they seem the solutions to their answers are always unexpectedly plain and simple.

My problem maybe ridiculous and irrelevant to you but please…if you can (in any way) help me, I will highly appreciate it. But first, let me tell you a story that is very much related to this day’s issue.

When I was in Grade 1 elementary school, I learned that the Filipino translation of the word “pen” is “pluma.” I thought that it was kinda weird, and wondered, “Where the hell did that word came from?” And I never expected that the answer to that question would hit me 20 years later in the most unlikely place and in the most unlikely situation.

It was a clear and bright Sunday afternoon, I can hear the water dripping from the faucet, and I can feel blood starting to rush to my head. Suddenly my eyes gazed on an all too familiar shower curtain as I sit comfortably on the bowl. As my sight relentlessly scoured the bright pink flamingos dancing against the encouraging green background, my voice talked inside my head and said, “Flamingos have magnificent pink plumage.”

Then all of a sudden, I was simultaneously caught in a phantasmagoria of words and a trance-like state for less than 2 minutes (I think). All those seconds, it felt like I was traveling back in time. Particular words started to become clear and line up one after another. They visually began to show their meanings and correlation with each other. First the word “Plumage,” then “Plume” then the word “Pluma.” After those almost 2 minutes was over, I felt a sweet satisfaction inside, but a bit different in its own way!

So the thing is, I finally got the answer to my 20-year old question, “Where did the word ‘pluma’ came from?” The English word “pen” is translated as “pluma” in Filipino because it came from the word “Plume” meaning “Feather.” As we all know, before, people use feathers or “Quill” which they dip on ink bottles as pens for writing.

My other puzzle of the same kind is this:
“What are the deeper meanings, relationships and significance among the following words?”

1. Gene
2. Gender
3. Genealogy
4. Genus
5. Genuflect
6. Genu-pectoral
7. Knee
8. “Apo sa Tuhod” (Filipino) – “Grand Offspring to Knee” (English) – direct word-to-word translation; the correct translation is “Great Grand Offspring”
9. “Lolo sa Tuhod” (Filipino) – “Grandfather to Knee” (English) – direct word-to-word translation; the correct translation is “Great Grandfather”

So far, here is what and all I have got:

Gene means a part of DNA or RNA that contains chemical information needed to make a particular protein (as an enzyme) controlling or influencing an inherited bodily trait or activity (as eye color) or that influences or controls the activity of another gene or genes.

Gender pertains to any of two or more divisions within a grammatical class that determine agreement with and selection of other words or grammatical forms.

Genealogy is the study of family lineages or pedigrees.

Genus pertains to a category of biological classification that ranks between the family and the species and contains related species, to further elaborate, let us use “dog” as an application:

Kingdom – Animal
Phylum – Vertebrates
Class – Mammal
Order – Canine
Family – ?
Genus – ?
Species – Golden Retriever

Genuflect means to bend the knee especially in worship or knighting ceremonies.

Genu-pectoral (Knee-chest) is referred to in medical terms as a body position where in the knees and chest are pressed against the bed or examining table while the buttocks are elevated for examination.

Knee is the joint in the middle part of the leg.

Numbers 8 and 9 were already explained.

Please help me answer these questions:
1. Why is it called “Apo or Lolo sa Tuhod”?
2. What is the connection and importance of the “knee” to all of these?
3. Which of these are “root” words and which are the “inflections or declinations”?
4. What are the origin of these words, are they from Latin, Greek, Arabic, Old English or Middle English?

Thank you for bearing with me.

I am hoping that you and the net can help me make things easier and accelerated for my quest. Meaning, I don’t have to wait another 20 years, and be on a clear and bright Sunday afternoon, listening to the sound of dripping water from the faucet, and feel my blood start to rush to my head as I sit comfortably on the bowl.

One Response to “”

  1. imMOB July 28, 2004 at 10:34 am #

    im in master 3. i remember the pluma story. cool!

Leave a Reply

